top of page

Recent Posts

The Les Misérables Revival is Leaving Broadway and I'm Heartbroken


Knowing that there will not be some resolute revolutionary waving the red flag at the Imperial Theatre on West 45th Street most nights (and matinees) categorically changes my understanding of New York City.

Because what is New York without Les Misérables?

LITERALLY. ME. WHEN. LES. MIS. CLOSES.

This is not just an ordinary show. This is a revolution (literally and figuratively).

The first time I heard that Les Mis was leaving Broadway in the Fall, I straight up didn't believe it.

"les mis is leaving broadway"

I first learned the tragic news while walking through Times Square a couple months ago. A billboard atop a building on the north side of the square boasted a photo from the revival's publicity shoot and said (something like) "Don't Miz out! Finals months".

First, I enjoyed the pun. Then, I panicked.

Judgement day is September 4th. When Les Mis closes its revival run on Broadway.

After living in London, where the West End production of Les Mis has been running continuously since 1985 (what a blessed city), it was a totally foreign idea to me that Les Mis could be closing on Broadway. I figured that the two best cities in the world would have a continuous run of the best theatrical production known to man (I'm only half kidding).

Plus, I've always considered Les Mis and Phantom of the Opera like field trip buddies. You stay with your buddy. Les Mis and Phantom are the two longest running musicals in the West End - so if Phantom is still running on Broadway (with no foreseeable end), then surely Les Mis will be where Phantom is. Right?

The lesson here: New York is not London - something I'm learning slowly ... and begrudgingly.

The other, more pressing, lesson: I am lost without Les Mis.

without Les Mis, this world is a dark place

What will I do if I want to hear the people sing?? Where will New Yorkers go if they need to have a therapeutic public cry? And, most importantly, how soon is this show coming back??

The revival of Les Mis on Broadway is one of the rare times when I was pro-revamping a show. I'm not altogether sure how many times I've seen Les Mis (weeping through this show is a tradition for the women in my family), so I went into this thinking I knew what to expect.

Except for one thing: in a beautiful twist of fate, I discovered that in this revival, and for a limited engagement, Alfie Boe would be playing Valjean.

And Alfie Boe is my Valjean.*

*This was how it happened: we were flipping through channels and, by the grace of God, we paused on PBS when they were showing the Les Mis 25th Anniversary Concert (which all of the gifs in this article are from, by the way. Because, for the most part, it's the best Les Mis - apart from the actual stage experience, of course). I didn't know it at the time, but the stout man with kind eyes - the one making an unbelievable operatic sound - was Alfie Boe. And this was going to change my life. We bought the 25th Anniversary Concert on DVD the next day.

Alfie "Valjean" Boe, amazing human.

So I bought tickets for the revival knowing I'd be getting to see Alfie do the Valjean role again in person, but knowing nothing else about the revival.

I am not exaggerating. From the moment that the revival started, it was clear that this was going to be a very special production. Right away, it is different, it is bigger, it is more at home in the 21st century than it ever has been. Big changes had been made - like adding the projected sets - and small changes, too - like Marius's weirdly charming blue coat.

Chris McCarrell as Marius. Click for link. Photo via Playbill.

*blinded by blue coat* me: how is he making that work

I never thought I'd get to see a version of Les Mis that was like seeing the show anew.

And, if you were wondering, Alfie was as incredible, as always.

I would always urge someone to see this show on stage rather than in any other form; that's how this show is meant to be experienced. But it's not the same when you tell someone to see a show that has closed (at least for now).

And so it's time to say goodbye to this rendition. And this cast. And I literally can't.

Les Mis don't leave me

Of course, it's not just this version of the show that makes it great. It's the story. It's the music. But as a film person, I'm used to constants; films never change. What you bring to them changes. And though one of the beautiful things about theater is that it's different each time, it will be hard to say goodbye. This specific revival has a special place in my heart.

I have the urge to write something like an Oscar speech right now: to thank everyone who was a part of this Les Mis revival experience (I don't know why I'm thanking everybody... I did nothing but sob in the eighth row) and to wish them all well in their further adventures. It's blatantly emotional, but then again, this is Les Mis we're talking about.

Les Mis in summary

So I'll just say: This revival, every little piece of it, has been a special experience for me, and I'm sure for so many others. The music lives on. The show lives on. Even if most of the characters do not.

I will not wave the white flag on this show. The only flags I will be waving will be red - for the revolution.

Until we meet again ... goodbye, Les Mis. I love you.

If you need me, I'll be weeping through the 25th Anniversary Concert.

bottom of page