top of page

Recent Posts

My Halloween Playlist


The Halloween episode of Pushing Daisies, Season 1 Ep 5 "Girth".

Ghouls and goblins may have their charms, but don't let them distract you; there's also a heck of a lot of great television to be enjoyed on Halloween!

Everyone's Halloween will be different. Maybe you're more into horror films, or costume parties, or trick-or-treating. Maybe today's about playful spooks, or maybe you're more about being scared half to death.

As for me, I'm a Disneyland-Haunted-Mansion-ride type of Halloween person. Benign, spooky, and whimsical Halloween is what I'm all about.

It turns out that most of my favorite TV shows have at least one Halloween-themed episode (The Monkees has at least four). But also, most of the shows I watch tend to have morbid undertones, so Halloween is a perfect fit.

The Addams Family, Season 1, Ep 7 "Halloween with the Addams Family"

Here's what we'll be watching today - and I wanted to invite you to watch along!

All of them are shows, except the big finish, which is my Halloween movie ritual: convincing as many people as possible to enjoy The Little Vampire (2000) with me, preferably while eating those ready-made cookie dough sugar cookies that have pictures of pumpkins on them (pictures of ghosts is passable, too).

Our Halloween (TV/movie) playlist:

- The Addams Family, S1 E7 "Halloween with the Addams Family"

- The Munsters, S1 E1, "Munster Masquerade"

- The Monkees, S1 E2, "Monkee See, Monkee Die"

S1 E18, “I Was a Teenage Monster”

S2 E18, “The Monstrous Monkee Mash”

- Pushing Daisies, S1 E5, “Girth”

- The Little Vampire (2000)

The Addams Family, The Munsters, and The Monkees are all half hour sitcoms, while Pushing Daisies is an hour format.

Davy Jones is chosen to be the next young Dracula. Don't worry, he's just practicing with tomato juice. The Monkees, Season 2 Ep 18 "The Monstrous Monkee Mash".

Note: these are not all of the Halloween episodes of all of my favorite shows - only the ones I've curated for today. Let me know if you watch along!

Happy Halloween!

bottom of page