top of page

Recent Posts

The Stranger Things Season 2 Ad Turned My World Upside Down

The scene: it's Super Bowl Sunday. I am disgruntled because football exists, so I mute the game and listen to the commercials.

AND THEN I HEARD THE WORD "EGGO".

Just after halftime, Netflix aired their first footage-filled spot for the second season of Stranger Things.

And for thirty seconds, I was reminded of the strength and fury which can be brought forth simply by the sound of a vintage Arp synthesizer.

Here's the spot, in case you missed it:

When the game went into overtime, I was like "K." But this -- this was the thirty seconds which made the Super Bowl worthwhile. Immediately, my mind began a series of mental scheduling gymnastics in which I attempted to convince myself that I presently had a spare eight hours to rewatch the entirety of Season One (again).

I have no idea what anything in the trailer means, of course. Except, notably, that I'll have to wait until Halloween 2017 to really find out.

I prefer not to speculate and go into Season 2 much the same way I went into Season 1 - totally clueless and armed with Spielberg references. Prep for Season 2 will include reviewing Ghostbusters as well. And, of course, the endless viewing of this video revealing the Season 2 episode titles:

The most important question I have about Season 2 isn't about Eleven or the Upside Down or that disquieting slug incident (although all are troubling). My question is, of course, about movie references.

The episode titles ad tells us that Season 2 is going to resume in Fall of 1984, but honestly? That didn't really sink in until I saw the kids in Ghostbusters costumes.

My super important question is this: how many Terminator (1984) references are we going to get? And, most important of all, how many Back to the Future (1985) references are coming in Season 3? (That's really where I was going with all of this. My dream is to have the Stranger Things kids talk about Marty McFly.)

I can see it now: Stranger Things Season 3 taking Eleven to 1985 in 2018.

And finally, this question: do you think next Halloween there will be a mysterious shortage of Eggos?

*aggressively sings synthesizer music*

bottom of page