top of page

Recent Posts

"That Thing You Do!" (1996)

Continuing my tradition of being totally and completely anachronistic, I have made another untimely cinematic discovery.

In fact, I think I have discovered my movie soulmate.

And it came in sheep's clothing: as a Tom Hanks movie.

Not that I don't love Tom Hanks movies -- it's just bizarre that it isn't any of the front runners that one would expect. Not Forrest Gump or You've Got Mail or Sleepless in Seattle. It's not even Splash or Big, which truly have potential to be dark horse contenders (I never knew how many Tom Hanks movies I could love if I put my mind to it).

My question is, have you seen That Thing You Do! (1996)?

my whole experience of watching this film

Perhaps a better question is, have you even heard of it??

If you haven't heard of the movie, maybe you've heard of the song? That Thing You Do! is both the name of the movie and the song that the movie is about. In fact, it's the song's fault I even watched this movie at all.

I was sitting in a coffee shop with a friend when the titular song started pouring rays of sixties-style sunshine into that dank little New York hole-in-the-wall. I liked the song so much that I shazamed it and found out later that it was the centerpiece to a movie that was about - well, pretty much everything I love.

Let's sound off on a few of the reasons this film qualifies as a delight to my soul.

First, I have been born and raised on sixties music (do not challenge me to Beatles trivia). What does this mean? It means that I have a strong, irrepressible love for groups of guys wearing matching suits that bow in unison. This will always be so.

It also means that we're looking at a several decades worth of obsession with mixed-media masters like The Beatles, The Monkees, and Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons (whose story has been brilliantly adapted to the stage for Jersey Boys).

But originally, this film screamed 90's to me rather than 60's. I mean, if you look at the poster, I think that's a fair claim.

I was blinded to the 1960s references by Lisa Frank colors and cutout stars

It looks more like a happy-go-lucky 90s film (which, of course, it is) than the homage to the 1960s which it also is. I think was one of the original barriers to our relationship.

The movie opens with bubblegum colors, catchy music, and the mid-century splendor of a small Pennsylvanian town. I was TICKLED.

It was a revelation for me when I realized that the poster was trying to reference the famous jumping shot of my beloved Beatles and the similar leaping sequence in their film - one of my all-time favorite movies of ever - A Hard Day's Night (1964).

Exhibit A: Beatles <3

Exhibit B: the 90s reference The Beatles which I didn't get until I started the movie and realized it was set in the 1960s

Me: OHHHHHHHH

exact emotion courtesy of Matt Smith

Anyways, once it became apparent that I was in for a soul journey down memory lane (through a time I never actually lived through... life is so funny), there was only one thing left to do: cozy up and try not to dance too much every time the title song came on (which was often) (I was pretty unsuccessful).

T.B. Player was one of my favorite people in this movie.

I'm not saying That Thing You Do! is the greatest artistic masterpiece of all time - that would ruin it. But it is a delightful feel-good movie full of references for anybody who knows their 1960s music history, specifically if you're into The Beatles or The Monkees. Because it's everywhere. (Surely someone else has catalogued all the ways that The Wonders mirror Beatlemania and other 1960s groups - I just don't have time to go down that rabbit hole right now) .

*me watching Jersey Boys* *also me watching That Thing You Do!*

There is a simple, pure delight in watching four average guys have fame and fortune thrust upon them. And also watching Tom Hanks be their spirit guide (who wouldn't want Woody's voice guiding them on the journey of life?).

Honest to goodness, I have no idea how I have avoided this movie so long. It seems like we should have been coupled eons ago, and yet - it was my density to discover it this week. (Rule #1 around here: never miss the opportunity to take make a Back to the Future reference).

So I shall say: thank you, Tom Hanks. Thank you, parents, for my 1960's music upbringing. And thank you to The Wonders for that thing you do.

bottom of page