top of page

Recent Posts

OSCARS 2017: A BIT OF MADNESS IS KEY

Two hours later, I am still too anxious to sleep. La La Land lyrics do not lie: a bit of madness really was key - to the 2017 Oscars ceremony.

"it's VERY EXCITING"

That unbelievable flub of announcing the wrong best picture winner might give me trust issues for the rest of my life. Certainly, this moment has already given me instant Oscars paranoia. I can't wait to tell my grandkids about how horrifying it was when, back in my day, I witnessed - on live television - the most uncomfortable Oscars moment of all time.

They gave La La Land the Best Picture Oscar --- and then they took it away.

All the while it was happening, I could hear the distant roar of the internet exploding.

Can we all just take a moment to recognize that we have witnessed history tonight? This is quite possibly the biggest, most embarrassing Oscars moment of all time.

Here is a brief overview of tonight:

Best Moment: When they did a homage to Back to the Future, showed clips from it, had Seth Rogen explain why it inspired him and why the performances in it are so perfect. And then they rolled Michael J. Fox on stage in a Delorean and had him present alongside Seth. I just had to put my hand over my heart and choke back those tears. Easily the best moment.

Worst Moment: (I mean, other than the obvious worst moment) When they "surprised" those tourists and had them walk through the Oscars. No really great effect there. That one guy would not stop kissing the ladies' hands and you could just feel the chaos of the whole thing lurking beneath the surface. And I thought that was bad...

What We Will Remember: Obvious. I don't even know who to feel the worst for.

bottom of page