top of page

Recent Posts

"Thor: Ragnarok"


Ever since its hilarious trailer debuted, I've been looking forward to Thor: Ragnarok (although I have been wondering exactly what a "Ragnarok" is for quite a while now. Thankfully, the film did explain).

I found the lightness of the Thor world to be really refreshing in the new film. I'm really happy that director Taika Waititi's legendary sense of humor was seamlessly incorporated and seems to be a perfect fit for a Marvel movie. One of my friends introduced me to some of Waititi's other projects and I've been a fan ever sine, especially of the delightfully fun and hilarious What We Do in the Shadows (2014) and Hunt for the Wilderpeople (2016).

Historically, Thor hasn't really resonated with me... I guess that's a nice way of saying that he was definitely my least favorite avenger. But! The take Waititi spin on his story has definitely helped chip away at my anti-Thor prejudice, as well as genius videos like this that they made when Thor was left out of Captain America: Civil War:

I really just like that little Mjolnir has his own napping bed.

Regardless of my own bias for or against certain Marvel characters, I'm still strongly in favor of Marvel over DC. Because, let's face it, I'm dreading Justice League. It's already clear that the marketing with the newspaper-snippet style text on the poster just isn't working.. and I'm still bitter that the new trailer for Justice League continues to pretend that Superman is really dead (and that it poached one of my favorite David Bowie songs... rude). Lots to worry about there to be sure.

But for now, let's rejoice that Marvel has had yet another notch on its superiority belt.

bottom of page