top of page

Recent Posts

THIS IS HALLOWEEN 2018

As of today, I can now truthfully say that I've taught an introductory film course at the university level dressed as Eleven from Stranger Things.

Because - yay! - it's Halloween!

And this is my 3rd annual Halloween Playlist post, sharing all of those movies and shows that are making today super spooky at my house.

If you've read my original Halloween Playlist, or looked at last year's Halloween Playlist, then you already know that when I talk about Halloween, I'm celebrating the "Disneyland Haunted Mansion" type of Halloween.

This year, I'm here to correct a mortifying oversight on the part of last year's playlist. I'm here to tell you that today is the day to watch What We Do in the Shadows (2014x).

Before I saw this film, I never knew I needed it in my life. But I did not know how much I was missing.

It's like The Office. In New Zealand. With Vampires.

There is virtually no end to the usefulness of the quotes. And I cannot think of a more riotous Halloween movie.

As if you needed more incentive to watch this movie on Amazon because it's included in Prime, there's also the fact that they've just announced a TV show version of What We Do In The Shadows that's going to air on FX in the spring. I have never been more ready for a show in my life.

Please invest in your future and watch the first few minutes of the movie below:

In addition to this new(wish) discovery, I'm also a creature of habit and love to return to the tried and true movie-watching rituals on my holidays.

As you know, every year, we watch The Little Vampire (2000). Because it's the Halloween movie in my house, and because it is a formative film which was indisputably integral the course of the rest of my life.

One thing that has been noticeably missing from my Halloween festivities this year is a new season of Stranger Things, so I've been rewatching Seasons 1 and 2 to fill in the gap of new content. Last I heard, ST Season 3 was slated for summer 2019... which I think is a conflict of interest. When you think of Stranger Things, do you think of bright summer sunshine? No, you think of Christmas lights and Ghostbuster trick-or-treaters.

I got a chance to watch a few of my favorite Halloween episodes of The Monkees TV show yesterday, as well. There is a better description of which episodes I'm talking about in last year's playlist. But, just so you know, a lot of episodes of The Monkees are now on YouTube. Which means I get to take them wherever I go!

Every Halloween, I'm both surprised and not surprised at the staying power of The Addams Family. It's covered so many mediums - including comics, television, movies, and the Broadway stage - and I'm sure I don't have to convince you there's a reason I still see Wednesday Addams walking around every year.

I've got a bit more watching to do tonight, so happy Halloween, foolish mortals!

Here's a list of the films I talked about (or didn't talk about) that are all in the gumbo of my Halloween playlist each year:

TV:

- The Addams Family

S1 E7 "Halloween with the Addams Family"

- The Munsters

S1 E1, "Munster Masquerade"

- The Monkees

S1 E2, "Monkee See, Monkee Die"

S1 E18, “I Was a Teenage Monster”

S2 E18, “The Monstrous Monkee Mash”

- Pushing Daisies

S1 E5, “Girth”

- Stranger Things

Seasons 1 & 2

Movies:

- What We Do in the Shadows (2014)

- The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

- Edward Scissorhands (1990)

- Sleepy Hollow (1999)

- The Addams Family (1991)

- Addams Family Values (1993)

- E.T. (1982)

- The Little Vampire (2000)

x

bottom of page